Australian Travel and Culture

New South Wales

Australian States and Territories - New South Wales

Name of Australian State : New South Wales
Abbreviation : NSW
Capital City of NSW : Sydney (founded in 1788)
NSW Size : 809,444 square kilometers or 312,528 square miles

New South Wales Map - NSW

Located on the south east of Australia, is the state of New South Wales. NSW is the 5th largest state or territory by land area and is ranked the 1st largest by population in Australia.

NSW State Flag Flag of New South Wales (NSW Flag)
NSW coat of arms Coat of Arms of New South Wales

New South Wales Emblems

NSW Cities and Towns

  • Sydney - Sydney is the largest city in Australia and is the capital city of New South Wales.
  • Byron Bay - Popular beachside town of Byron Bay, with the most easterly located lighthouse in Australia.
  • Maitland - Maitland is located in the Hunter Valley and is a short drive to the Hunter Valley vineyards.
  • Newcastle - Newcastle is a city by the beach and about 160 kilometers north of Sydney.

More NSW

>> Travel Australia>> Australian Places>> States of Australia>> NSW - New South Wales

Australia Online

Below is a listing of Australian states and territories.

  • Australian Capital Territory (ACT) - Located near Sydney in the eastern state of NSW, is the capital territory of Australia. The Capital City is Canberra.
  • New South Wales (NSW) - The eastern state of NSW is the state with the largest population in Australia. The Capital city of New South Wales is Sydney.
  • Northern Territory (NT) - Located in the central north of Australia is the federal territory of the Northern Territory. The capital city of NT is Darwin.
  • Queensland (QLD) - QLD is a state located in the north east of Australia. The capital city of Queensland is Brisbane.
  • South Australia (SA) - The state of South Australia is located in the central south of Australia. The capital city of SA is Adelaide.
  • Tasmania (TAS) - Tasmania is an Australian state located below Victoria, about 200 kilometers or 125 miles from the mainland of Australia. The capital city of Tasmania is Hobart.
  • Victoria (VIC) - State located in the south east of Australia. The capital city of Victoria is Melbourne.
  • Western Australia (WA) - The state of Western Australia covers the whole of the west of Australia, with the largest land area of all the states and territories. The capital city of WA is Perth.


Australian State of New South Wales
Index Australia || About || Link to Us || Flag of Australia || Aboriginal Flag
Famous Australian Places : Sydney || Newcastle
Famous Australian People : Rupert Murdoch || Brett Whiteley
Australian Travel and Culture Portal Online